The ILTS grants a number of awards to acknowledge outstanding abstracts and individuals who significantly contributed to ILTS. Congratulations to all awardees of ILTS 2019!

Distinguished Service Award (DSA)

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) honors individuals who have made outstanding career contributions to ILTS and/or liver transplantation. This year the DSAs were given to:

  • Chao-Long Chen, MD
  • David Grant, MD, FRCSC
  • John Klinck, MD, FRCA, FRCPC

Young Investigator Award

Each year the Program Planning Committee selects the best abstracts based on the degree of excellence submitted by young investigators. At ILTS 2019 the awards went to:

  • Jamil Alsahhar (transplant hepatology fellow)
  • Ivan Linares-Cervantes, MD, PhD
  • Angela Maria Chen, MD
  • Keri E. Lunsford, MD, PhD, FACS
  • Sarah Shalaby
  • Dr. Sunitha Vimalesvaran
  • Dr. David Wallace
  • Jorke Willemse, MSc
  • Xinxiang Yang, MD
  • Mr. Weiyi Zhang

ILTS Travel Award

During ILTS 2019 the Travel Awards which assists attendees with travel expenses went to:

  • Roberta Angelico, MD
  • Suk Kyun Hong
  • Mihnea-Ioan Ionescu, MD
  • Seohee Lee, MD
  • Mr. Li Pang Leif
  • Eleonora De Martin, MD, PhD
  • Dr. Clare Marie Morkane
  • Lorenzo A. Orci,  MD, PhD
  • Dr. Anupam Raj
  • Sapana Verma, MD, PhD, (Hepatobiliary and Liver transplant Fellow)

Rising Star Award

The 2019 ILTS Annual International Congress awarded six young investigator/mentor teams, which showed the best and brightest combinations of youth and wisdom working in the clinical and basic science of liver transplantation research today.

  • Investigator/Mentor: Iris Elizabeth Minke de Jong/Robert J. Porte,  MD, PhD
  • Investigator/Mentor: Richard Wallace Laing/Darius Mirza
  • Investigator/Mentor: Hajime Matsushima, MD/Koji Hashimoto, MD, PhD
  • Investigator/Mentor: Floris Johan Maria Roos/Prof. Dr. Luc van der Laan
  • Investigator/Mentor: Tiffany Wong (Hong Kong)/Chung Mau Lo

Vanguard Awards

The Vanguard Awards have been instituted to recognize two outstanding ILTS members who are aged 42 or younger. The award is given for best papers published in any peer-reviewed journal from January 2018 through December 2018.

  • Best Clinical Paper: David Nasralla, BMBCh, MA(Oxon), MRCS
  • Basic Science: Dr. Yoshihiro Ono